Review: One Day (David Nicholls)

One Day - David NichollsGoodreads Summary: Emma and Dexter meet for the first time on the night of their graduation. Tomorrow they must go their separate ways. So where will they be on this one day next year? And the year after that? And every year that follows? Twenty years, two people, ONE DAY.

My Thoughts: One Day was a fantastic read! Once I got into it I just could not stop reading! It is one of these stories that only talk about the daily life of people and nothing particularly special happens but it is just compelling and the way it is written just makes you want more and more and more until you are finished.

“I’d like to write a grown-up book one day. That’s what I always wanted to write, this great, angry state-of-the-nation novel, something wild and timeless that reveals the human soul…” I think the author managed to put the characterisation of his own book into the content of the book. This is exactly how the book should be described. It does not matter when the story is taking place or where! It is timeless and only about the feelings of two people who try their whole life to be together or to be with different people to forget each other but whose ways cross over and over again so that they are just not able to forget each other and never find a person who can really keep up with their one and only love.

The different chapters deal with different periods of time of the lives of the two main characters Emma and Dexter. In the beginning it is kind of hard to understand the overall context because every chapter only describes this one day of each year and explains what the two are doing. As a reader, you miss out completely on the rest of the year and at the beginning of each chapter you have to find your way back into the story. But even with these massive gaps in the story, David Nicholls, manages to keep it interesting and to include the missing bits into the story of these few days.

Even though I loved the book in the end, I was struggling in the beginning. Not because of the story itself but because I was reading the paperback and the words were really tiny and every page was so full with all these really small words that it was hard for my eyes to keep up with it. I hate it when books are published this way. My solution was just to get it as an ebook for my iPad and once I had it on there and could chose the size of the letters myself I was fine reading it and could actually focus on the content of the book more rather than focusing on keeping my eyes open!

I can highly recommend this book. It is not a typical girls or guys book. I think it is suitable for every gender. The only persons I would not recommend it to are people who do not like sad endings. I do not mind if books have a sad or a happy ending. I actually kind of like a sad ending once in a while because it keeps up the tension if you do not know for sure right from the beginning how the story will end.

My Rating: ★★★☆

This entry was posted in Fiction, Love Stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: One Day (David Nicholls)

  1. twinlander says:

    This is one of my favorite books.
    see my list of favorites at my blog: http://www.whimsicalthinking.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

