Review: From Notting Hill with Love… Actually (Ali McNamara)

From Notting Hill with Love... ActuallyGoodreads Summary: Scarlett O’Brien is in love . . . with the movies. Utterly hooked on Hugh Grant, crazy about Richard Curtis, dying with lust for Johnny Depp, Scarlett spends her days with her head in the clouds and her nights with her hand in a huge tub of popcorn. Which is not exactly what her sensible, DIY-obsessed fiancé David has in mind for their future. So when Scarlett has the chance to house-sit an impossibly grand mansion in Notting Hill ? the setting of one of her all-time favourite movies ? she jumps at the chance to live out her film fantasies one last time. It’s just a shame that her new neighbour Sean is so irritating ? and so irritatingly handsome, too. As a chaotic comedy of her very own erupts around Scarlett, she begins to realise there’s more to life than seating plans and putting up shelves. What sort of happy ending does she really want? Will it be a case of Runaway Bride or Happily Ever After? The big white wedding looms, and Scarlett is running out of time to decide.

My Thoughts: I bought this book a few months ago but did not start reading it right away. I just put it in my book shelve and it stayed there for quite a time. But why did I pick up this book just now? That is easy to explain: Recently, Notting Hill and especially the movie Notting Hill became something really special in my life. I do not want to give any details about it because this is not a blog about me and my private life but it is about the books I am reading. It just has a special meaning to me and that was why I suddenly wanted to read this book. It is chick lit and many people might not like it but I do. It is easy to read, romantic and funny. Once in a while I just need something like that.

So I started reading this book which talks a lot about movies, especially chick flicks which I love for the same reasons given above, and of course, it takes part in Notting Hill, my most favourite area in London. In the beginning, I did not really get into the story. The first chapters were a bit boring story wise. What kept me reading were the descriptions of Notting Hill and all the movies mentioned. Scarlett, the main character, wants to proof that life can be just as it is in movies and who does not want to live like in a movie? Who does not dream of a perfect and romantic happy ending in real life just as you can usually find it in chick flicks?

After a while I really got into the story and it became really interesting to see Scarlett and the developments between her and the two men in her life while she is just proofing that real life can be like a movie. The story has everything: Love, some family drama, traveling, London, Notting Hill and of course, movies. That is why I really liked it after the first chapters. And it stays compelling until the very end. You totally start feeling with Scarlett trying to figure out who is her man in the end. Does she want the organised, stable but also a bit boring David who she is supposed to marry or will she decide for the exciting, charming and funny Sean, her neighbour in Notting Hill who might end up being just a romance in the end and might not make her happy in the long run?

I am not going to tell you who she is going to choose or if she chooses one at all in the end but what I am going to tell you is that the ending of this book is as dramatic as it could be and just reminded me of all chick flick movies that I have seen so far. The ending is one that you definitely would expect from a book about movies…

I can highly recommend this book to you if you like chick lit novels and chick flick movies. If you want something funny and romantic, this is totally the book you should read. It is crazy once in a while but it never gets boring.

More about Ali McNamara can be found here.

My Rating: ★★★☆

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Chick Lit and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

