Review: A Thousand Splendid Suns (Khaled Hosseini)

Goodreads Summary: A Thousand Splendid Suns is a breathtaking story set against the volatile events of Afghanistan’s last thirty years, from the Soviet invasion to the reign of the Taliban to post-Taliban rebuilding, that puts the violence, fear, hope and faith of this country in intimate, human terms. It is a tale of two generations of characters brought jarringly together by the tragic sweep of war, where personal lives, the struggle to survive, raise a family, find happiness, are inextricable from the history playing out around them.

My Thoughts: When I picked up this book I was sure that I can expect an extremely great story like The Kite Runner which was one of those books that I read during one weekend! I absolutely loved it and it touched and affected me in a way only a few books did so far. This book belongs to the top 10 of my most favourite books so far! Therefore, I was so happy when I found that there was a second book written by Khaled Hosseini.

Unfortunately, I was disappointed by A Thousand Splendid Suns. It was just not the same. Of course it explained a lot about Afghanistan and offers great insights into the Afghan culture like The Kite Runner but the story is rather lame in my opinion. It just did not grab my complete attention. Nevertheless, learning more about Afghanistan was really interesting. Especially during the decade in which Afghanistan was in the news so much due to the war talking place there, it is nice to see a different part of it and actually get to know the culture and the Afghan people a bit better. I think that it really helps that the author is Afghan as well.

It is not the worst book I’ve ever read and I probably would have liked it more if I would not have had so high expectations due to its predecessor. For an author publishing such a book that becomes such a success story it must be hard to keep up with this success. There must have been a high pressure on Khaled in order to stay on the same level as The Kite Runner.

Even though I did not like the story, I can still honestly say that Khaled Hosseini is a fantastic writer. He always finds the right words and his books are written in a beautiful way that makes them highly enjoyable. This fact improves my opinion about the book a lot and I think due to that I would always give other books written by Khaled another chance. Perhaps next time I won’t have those high expectations and can actually enjoy the book more. I really do hope that he is going to write another book.

I know that there are many people out there who loved A Thousand Splendid Suns. I’ve seen it on many Top 10 lists of books that made you cry on Tuesday. Please tell me what it is that is so great of this book!

To find out more about Khaled Hosseini click here.

My Rating: ★★☆☆

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review: A Thousand Splendid Suns (Khaled Hosseini)

  1. Hiya, found you on the hop and this review caught my eye as I’ve read A Thousand Splendid Suns, but not The Kite Runner. It sounds like I should put it towards the top of my list!

  2. seo submit says:

    good molly The Secret Insights of my Bookshelf , i read your blog , be a nice blog and perfect. Good for everyone. useful Teaser Tuesday and Non-Fiction content. i will often to read and comment your website.

  3. good molly The Secret Insights of my Bookshelf , i comment your blog , be a nice blog and greatly. Good for me. a lot of Love Stories and Suspense content. i going to often to read and comment your blog.

  4. I just put this book on my to be read list today .I am so glad I found this review now
    I can cross it off and check out the Kite Runner. Thanks for saving me some time.

  5. Pingback: My Weekly Reading Dose (#5) | The Secret Insights of my Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

