Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Made You Cry

This is the first time that I am taking part in the Top Ten Tuesday hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. I love the idea of this feature because I love creating lists of basically everything! It is also a great way to get to know fellow bloggers and readers.
This weeks Top Ten is about books that made me cry. It wasn’t easy but here are my top ten in this category:

  1. The Kite Runner (Khaled Hosseini)
    This is one of the best books ever even though the story is sooo sad! I did not know a lot about the Afghan culture before reading this book but I can understand it so much better now and it gave a great new view on things that are not mentioned in the everyday news.
  2. The Diary of a Young Girl (Anne Frank)
    For me as a German, the Second World War is a topic I have to deal with a lot. We talk about it so much in school and Germans are still associated with it. Next to the movie Schindler’s Liste, Anne Frank’s story is one of the most touching stories I’ve ever read!
  3. The Time Traveler’s Wife (Audrey Niffenegger)
    This is just a fantastic love story!!! See my review about it here
  4. PS I love you (Cecilia Ahern)
    This book is really unusual because it made me cry the most in the beginning. The beginning is really sad but I still cried during the rest of the book! It is a really touching story and I love the way it is written – so emotional!!!
  5. Message in a Bottle (Nicholas Sparks)
    Who hasn’t cried while reading this book? I love the way Nicholas Sparks is always able to reach out to my feelings. This story was the first one I’ve ever read of him and it was the beginning of me reading everything he has written! Even my grandmother started reading it and she loves it as much as I do!
  6. The Green Mile (Stephen King)
    I don’t know how many people have read this book. Probably less than the people who watched the movie. I’ve done both and I could feel so much with the prisoners being treated the way they are in this prison! I do not want to give away the ending but it is very emotional!!!
  7. Desert Flower (Waris Dirie)
    I’m always interested in books about other cultures and especially about the people living in these cultures. But sometimes I am really really sad about how people have to suffer because of living in their culture. This books shows extremely detailed what is going on in some African countries and it touched me deeply!
  8. Sams letters to Jennifer (James Patterson)
    Just another fantastic love story!!!
  9. Basically all other books written by Nicholas Sparks
    As mentioned before, for me, he is one of the best romance writers. Many people I’e talked to don’t like his stories but I think that they are really realistic and they just go deep under my skin…
  10. At some point I also always cried in all Harry Potter books
    I don’t think that this needs explanation…

Books that made me cry are also the books that I rate the highest most of the time! I think that is because they touch me so strongly and if a book is able to do so, it can only be an extremely good book!

I am looking forward to your top 10! Please feel free to leave a comment!

This entry was posted in Top 10 Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Made You Cry

  1. “Diary of a Young Girl” came to mind immediately for me as well. I read a play based on the diary which frightened me, then read the diary itself. However, Anne’s optimism and belief in the potential goodness of human nature is also heartening. “Whenever I despair, I think of the beauty that remains…and then I am happy.”

    I listed one Harry Potter book. Then two. Then three. Then I decided to list them in the same entry!

  2. Misha Mathew says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog! Both The Kite Runner and the Diary of a Young Girl made me cry too

  3. It’s interesting how books that make us cry are also books we love. Odd.

    Here’s my list:
    http://readerbuzz.blogspot.com/2010/11/top-ten-books-that-made-you-cry.html

  4. Our lists are very similar, and its also my first week actually participating too!
    I have read The Green Mile, and loved it too… also very sad, and I’m sure I cried as well!

  5. I’m happy to see The Time Traveller’s Wife on so many lists. What a great book! And I agree, anything by Sparks is almost guaranteed tears. You can check out my Top Ten Tuesday here. Have a great day!

  6. Lu says:

    The Green Mile! Yes, both made me cry. Book and movie.

  7. Alley says:

    The HP series had so many sad moments. I did not expect to cry at what seemed like it would be such a light story. Nice list!

  8. Bev says:

    Agree with you on the Diary of a Young Girl! Haven’t read any of the others…and honestly as with most of the books that will wind up on these lists, I probably won’t. I’m not big on tearful drama in my pleasure reading….

    Here’s my Top Ten: http://myreadersblock.blogspot.com/2010/11/top-ten-tearful-tuesday.html

  9. Jen says:

    I haven’t read P.S. I Love You (didn’t know it was a book until recently!) but I’ve seen the movie and I cried so many times during the movie. I’m glad I watched it in the comfort of my own house instead of watching it in public!

  10. Ashley says:

    I know what you mean about the books that make you cry being the highest rated! I do the same. Somewhere in my subconscious I think I believe that a book is amazing once it touches my emotions enough to make me cry! …

  11. Kelly says:

    I’ve only read 3 Nicholas Sparks books and they’ve all had me bawling like a baby! I think I’m too scared to continue reading anymore of his🙂

  12. Megan says:

    OMG! I had completely forgot about The Green Mile. No matter how many times I read the book or see the movie I actually cry out loud. Great list!!

  13. Melody says:

    I cried buckets while watching P.S. I Love You…didn’t realize it was a book! Off to check it out.

  14. Thanks for all your nice comments! I think it is amazing that all our lists are very similar! On almost all of your list I could find at least one book that is also on mine!
    It really makes me want to try out more of the books listed by you! Unfortunately, I do not have enough time for that!😦

  15. Cyna says:

    Nice list. I’ll admit, HP and Sparks made the majority of my list as well. Sparks is pretty good at his game, but I’ll admit after a few it got old for me:/ And Harry Potter, god. The last three were heart-wrenching.

  16. Pingback: Blog Interviewer

Leave a Reply

