Kindle – My First Impressions

Since Friday evening, I am a proud owner of a Kindle 3! Waiting for the delivery was quite exciting because the delivery slot was between 6.30 and 9.30 that night. Of course, I had to wait until 9.20 until the parcel finally arrived! It was like waiting for Christmas when you are a child and when I could finally unwrap it, it was absolutely great!

I did not just get the Kindle but also a little sleeve so that my new gadget is always protected when I’m traveling. That was really important to me since I am planning to only use it when I’m not at home.

Coincidentally, I had a trip planned for this weekend so that I could already test it outside my house. Here are some great advantages I figured out during my trip:

  • It is really extremely light (I did not even recognise that I was carrying a book with me)
  • It is so small that it fits into almost every bag!
  • It is possible to carry around up to 3.500 books at the same time
  • When there is sun it does not make a difference, it is just like reading a real book
  • Since it is so light, it is possible to hold it with just one hand which is practical in packed trains when you cannot get a seat
  • You can buy a transparent sleeve for it so that you can even read when it is raining
  • Reading with gloves is possible as well because in order to turn a page, you just have to press a button. Considering the cold temperatures in the winter and keeping in mind that on my way to work I have to wait outside on a platform waiting for my train, this is great because I do not have to abandon the possibility to read
  • It is possible to take notes or highlight certain passages while reading (especially practical for reviewers)
  • If your eyes get tired, you can easily switch on the audiobook and a nice voice reads out the book for you
  • You can create your own categories and sort your books
  • With a Wi-Fi connection you can also share your notes and highlights with others through Facebook and Twitter

 

This is already a lot. But I found some minor things missing as well:

  • To make it even better as a real book, it would be great if it would be possible to have a light for the screen so that you can also read in the dark.
  • It would be great if the original page numbers would be shown no matter which font size you are using
  • Colours are a bit missing as well. Especially when looking at the cover of the book or shopping in the amazon store.
  • Typing on the keyboard takes a bit of time getting used to.

Apart from this, the Kindle is the perfect companion for my trips or my way to work and back! Thus, I am really glad that I bought it. In comparison to other devices such as the iPad or the Sony Reader, it was cheaper, it has more books available to buy and the screen is pretty perfect! And for all other things I want to do when I’m traveling, I still have my iPhone which is a great substitute for the iPad.

My Rating: ★★★★

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kindle – My First Impressions

  1. Chrissy says:

    Lovely review, very helpful and relevant to a readaholic.

    Often the reviews are too technical and most of the aspects don’t really interest me but your review has almost convinced me to buy the Kindle. The two points that me stop me from buying right away are:

    1. No touch screen – I’m so used to a touch screen from my iPhone that it feels like going back a step in technology. Maybe I’m being a bit too harsh here, how do you find it as a former iPhone user?

    2. No colour. I’m planning on using the browser quite a bit when I’m abroad and it just looks so sad in black & white. I also miss having the book covers in colours.

    After having it for a week are you still in love with the Kindle?

    Keep up the great work, I really enjoy your blog🙂

    Chrissy xx

  2. Hi!

    Thanks a lot! I am glad to hear that people are actually reading what I am writing all the time!🙂

    Yes, I still love my Kindle! I am always using it on my way to work or wherever else I go… It is just practical and handy! In terms of your two concerns, I can say that I had exactly the same concerns but after using the Kindle now for a week, I can definitely say that I don’t mind at all that it does not have a touch screen. This way I can actually use it with gloves. Before that I was using my iPhone as an e-reader and to turn the page you have to touch the screen (same as with the iPad) and that was just not possible with gloves. So I was always standing at the platform waiting for my train with freezing hands…

    With regard to the colour: To be honest, only 95% of paper books have colour inside the book… so the pages on the Kindle look exactly the same as the pages of a book. They even have the grey/brownish background like real paper books! So there is absolutely no difference. Of course, the cover is not in colour but how often would you have a look on the cover when it’s an e-reader? Probably just once when you start reading the book. For real books that is important because you always look at the covers when they are lying around but for an e-reader it is just not necessary.
    The colour issue is an issue for kids books, I think that is one of the disadvantages but I think at the moment, the target group for e-readers is grown up people anyway so that does not concern me a lot.

    In a nutshell, I can definitely say that I still think it was a great investment and I am really looking forward to my light hand luggage on my flight home to Germany tomorrow…🙂

    I hope I was able to help you with your decision!

    PS: If you go for it, I don’t think it is necessary to buy the expensive version that has 3G because to be honest, for me it is enough to be able to download books at home or whereever I have a WiFi Connection!🙂

  3. Dorte H says:

    I agree whole-heartedly!

    I didn´t mind so much about the missing page numbers, though, when I noticed the icon which tells me how many percent of the book I have read. Very useful, because for crime fiction I really want to know when the ending is near.

Leave a Reply

