Review: I Heart New York (Lindsey Kelk)

Goodreads Summary: When you’re running away from a broken heart, there’s only one place to go…Adjusting tiaras at the foot of the aisle, Angela and her best friend prepare for the wedding of the year. But events don’t go as planned. And when a girl is in possession of a crumpled bridesmaid dress – and can’t go home – New York (for the very first time) seems like an excellent idea. Angela’s new friend Jenny Lopez gives Angela a whirlwind tour of the city that never sleeps, and a makeover. Who hasn’t dreamed of starting afresh with a sassy New York wardrobe, a new haircut and a trip to the make-up counter? Before she knows it, the new Angela is getting over her broken heart by having dinner with two different boys. And, best of all, she gets to write about it in her fabulous new blog. But it’s one thing telling readers all about your romantic dilemmas. It’s another trying to figure them out for yourself!

My Thoughts: New York is my most favourite city in the whole world. I‘ve seen it so many times in movies and read about it in different books. My whole life I knew that I would love it and when I finally went there 2 years ago, I realised that I loved it even more than I‘ve imagined…

That is why I can understand Angela‘s decision of going to New York to escape from her crappy life in London so well. It felt like going to New York with her all the time I was reading the book!

I could perfectly understand that she just wanted to start all over and wanted to become a completely new person. Going to a new city you‘ve never been before makes it possible to become whoever or whatever you want to be. Nobody there knows you or your past and you can completely reinvent yourself. The book shows us that sometimes you have to be brave and risk something. Sometimes jumping into the cold water is a great fresh new start and helps you to figure out where your life is going.

But in the end, the book also teaches us to stay realistic. It tells us that we cannot ignore our past, no matter how far away we run. It will always come back to us! In the end, reality always catches up with us. Therefore, we have to learn how to accept and live with our past in order to move on in life. In the beginning of I heart New York, everything is new and exciting for Angela but as soon as it comes to everyday life, the “new factor” is gone and everything appears less glamorous. She realises that even New York is just a city and that even people living there are just people like you and me. They also have problems and are not just living this amazing life she imagined before…

“Well, you‘re not a US national, so it wouldn‘t necessarily be easy…” I like the fact that the book is completely realistic and not just telling a story that could never happen in real life. It keeps in mind that there are obstacles like getting a visa when moving from Europe to the States. The fact that Lindsey Kelk kept these things in mind makes it a story that seems perfectly realistic and authentic!

The story also shows the issues of writing about your experiences and feelings in a public blog. Some people might not actually be aware of how many people are really reading their posts and that it might not be as anonymous as the writer thought. This can become a big issue especially when the people the blogger is writing about are reading the posts and learn things about the blogger which they would have better heard from the blogger in person. Reading about yourself online can be really hurtful even thought the person writing about you tries to keep it anonymous. Sometimes, it would be wiser just to talk to people and be honest face to face.

Overall, I loved the way I heart New York is written. The chapters are quite short and thus, it was the perfect book to read on my way to work and back home. The plot is easy to follow but not at all boring! I absolutely loved reading it. I am not going to give away the ending but throughout the whole book I asked myself if Angela is going to stay in New York or if she is going back. I was thinking about how this story might end a lot but in the end I was totally surprised by its real ending!

In the end I thought that it would be the perfect story for a Chick Flit as well! I would love to also see it as a movie because it as everything a Chick Flit needs: A fantastic location, lots of shopping, coffee, romance and an unexpected ending! It reminded me a bit of the movie How to lose  a Guy in 10 Days because Angela also uses, in this case 2, guys for her work as a writer. As mentioned earlier, this always makes me think about how much is too much to publish it publicly on a blog.

If you are searching for an easy reading that does not need much concentration and just entertains you, I heart New York is the perfect choice!

If you want to learn more about Lindsey Kelk and her other publications, just click here.

My Rating: ★★★☆

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Chick Lit and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: I Heart New York (Lindsey Kelk)

  1. Pingback: My Weekly Reading Dose (#4) | The Secret Insights of my Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

