My Weekly Reading Dose (#3)

It has been a while since I last posted within this section of my blog. I am planning to do that on a regular basis now.

The last weeks have been crazy! 2 months ago I started a new job and moved to London. Now, I feel finally settled in my new surroundings and can focus more on my blog in the evenings. So what is new?

Books finished last week:

Right now I am reading:

  • The Book Thief (Markus Zusak)
  • Exit (Liliana Badd)
  • The XMas Factor (Annie Sanders)
  • I heart New York (Lindsey Kelk) – my first ebook (I am reading it on my iPhone)

Books I’ve just bought/received:

EXIT (Liliana Badd): This is the first book that was sent to me by an author to review it. I am really proud of myself that after 3 months of blogging, authors start sending me books! It feels really good and I realize that there are people out there reading my blog. Ever since I started writing this blog, I loved it! Writing about what I love doing since I was able to read… fantastic!!!

I already started reading EXIT and I cannot stop! It is extremely well written and I just love it!  Here is what it is about:
When you compare the facts of Liliana Badd’s life of exile from one to the next to that of her nearly autobiographical heroine’s, her novel’s title, Exit, can also equal exile, but all-knowing, benevolent exits/exiles. Exit is the story of a woman’s metamorphosis; finding her true self by surviving illness after having been the perfect wife and mother. Taking the reader on a journey through the life of this woman possessed rather than loved by her husband, exploring the complex relationships between children and parents and the collapsing of a life devastated by depression, we learn the intimate details and profoundness of a woman’s soul. Faced with profound questions about life and death, love and courage our heroine must contemplate her own fate.  From Paris to Bucharest, Ms. Badd opens the door to historical events that change her characters and the world around them. Exit is a symbol… we enter and cry and that is life; we cry and leave and that is death. We are not born equal… yet, there comes a moment in our lives when each one of us will have to face the EXIT. At that moment we become equal… and there will be one question for all of us, without exception: “What have you done with your life?”

The Xmas Factor (Annie Sanders): I bought this book because I am going to read and review it for my Christmas Special in December. Here is a quick summary:
Beth: it’s only September and already she has performance anxiety. Not surprising when she has agreed to lay on the annual Christmas Eve village bash – the piece de resistance of her husband’s former wife – not to mention having to host Christmas for his difficult offspring. New to this frenzied build-up to the festivities, Beth begins to lose sight of what it all means. To her the Christmas lights are looking more like the headlamps of an oncoming train.
Carol: glamorous magazine editor, who put her aspirational Christmas issue to bed sometime in July and is so involved in finding a scoop to save her ailing magazine that she fails to notice the impending festive rush. Panicked and wracked with guilt, she is determined to make it a picture perfect time for her little boy and, opting for convenience, books a lovely-sounding cottage in a quaint village.
Even the best laid plans have a habit of unravelling – and no plan at all is a recipe for disaster. So when these two Christmases collide, it looks like it’s going to be anything but goodwill towards men…

    Next week I am planning to review at least one of the books I am currently reading. I also thought about reviewing books I have read in the past before I actually started this blog! I’ve read so many really good books that I like to share with all of you! I haven’t decided yet which book it will be this week but I decided to have a “retro post” once a week from now on!🙂

    I hope you are enjoying my blog! If you have any comments or wishes, just let me know! I am happy about every kind of feedback!

    This entry was posted in My weekly reading dose and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    Leave a Reply

    