Top 5 Books of the 20th Century

During our last book club meeting, we talked about our Top 5 books of the 20th Century. We’ve all read a lot of books but there are always good ones but there are also books that we absolutely love and enjoy from the first word until the very last. Coming up with my top 5 was kind of hard. I was glad that I have all the books I’ve read in a database so that I first picked out the ones that I loved and than I tried to rank those books. In the end I came up with the following list:

  1. The Little Prince (Antoine De Saint-Exupery)
  2. The Diary of a young girl (Anne Frank)
  3. The Perfume (Patrick Süßkind)
  4. The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho)
  5. The Reader (Bernhard Schlink)

All these books are completely different from each other and completely unique. Most of the books I am normally reading are kind of comparable to others. The story is unique but relatively similar to others. Those books listed here are not at all like that. Moreover, they all make you think which I really like. Of course, sometimes it is nice to just read something entertaining. Especially after a long working day. But in the end, books that make you think about certain things are much more valuable because they broaden your knowledge and you maybe start looking at things from another perspective than you would have normally done. That is the reason why I love reading books. It enriches my knowledge, I am able to gain a better understanding for different cultures or just for people who are different than I am.

I started this blog approximately 3 months ago and since then I am really enjoying writing about the books I am reading. It is nice to receive feedback as well. Analysing what I have read makes me think about the book, the story and the author in a deeper way. I also think that it enhances my language and writing skills considering that I am not a native English speaker.

I hope that you are enjoying this book blog as much as I do. I am not sure how many people are actually reading it. It would be great to find out. Perhaps you could just share your Top 5 books in a comment . I am really interested in what you are reading and to get new ideas about which books I might read and review next.

I am looking forward to read your comments… and thanks a lot for reading my blog!!!🙂

This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top 5 Books of the 20th Century

  1. junksplat says:

    Alphabetical:
    Blood Meridian (Cormac McCarthy)
    Breakfast of Champions (Kurt Vonnegut)
    Infinite Jest (David Foster Wallace)
    Pale Fire (Vladimir Nabokov)
    The Trial (Franz Kafka)

Leave a Reply

