New on my wishlist (#2)

The Book Thief (Markus Zusak)

Abstract: 1939 – Nazi Germany – The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier. Liesel, a nine-year-old girl, is living with a foster family on Himmel Street. Her parents have been taken away to a concentration camp. Liesel steals books. This is her story and the story of the inhabitants of her street when the bombs begin to fall.
Some important information – this novel is narrated by death. It’s a small story, about: a girl; an accordionist; some fanatical Germans; a Jewish fist fighter; and quite a lot of thievery. Another thing you should know – death will visit the book thief three times.

Why I want it: Event though it is yet another book about Nazi Germany and, coming from Germany, this topic seems to come up constantly all the time Germany is mentioned in a novel, I still like to read it. From what I heard about the book so far it gives the reader another perspective on the war and how people dealt with it. For me that is the reason why I am interested in it. In school we only learn about the historical and political facts of the war but not about innocent people who had to live in that time and had to cope with all the fear and the constraints put on their lives by the war.

I hope that I will soon have the time to read it.

This entry was posted in My Wishlist and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New on my wishlist (#2)

  1. JoV says:

    It’s rare to find a WWII set in Germany and given a sympathetic view on the country who is perceived as the perpetrator and the aggressor in the Great War. I like this book but the one I really love was the book titled “The Reader” by Bernhard Schlink which you can find in my blog. I hope to read another book from Bernhard Schlink one day. So many books, so little time…

    • I know exactly what you mean! I’ve read “The Reader” as well and I cannot tell you how much I loved it! I also watched the movie and I really liked that as well. Usually, I do not like films that are based on books I’ve already read but in this case the film is also brilliant.

Leave a Reply

